A german dress, rubber boots and a kitchen knife.

Tuesday evening. I am surrounded by spooky gloomyness of the approaching winter. These fall days are treating me with warm temperatures while the trees are loosing their leaves and the ground is moist. In the mornings the city is captured by thick fog that slowly vaporizes over the day.

I live on a cemetery.

From my window I can directly see onto the graves and at night my apartment gets the candle light from our  gone beloved ones. I don´t mind living here. It has something special.

We have a school project for photography school where we are supposed to fill a roll of black and white analogue film with self portraits. The task is to make the portaits something special. Well, what could be more special than a girl in gloomy weather on a graveyard? Oh I know – A Germany girl wearing her traditional dress, rubber boots and a knife on a graveyard.

So I went outside with my tripod, digital camera, analogue camera and my “accessories”. I find taking pictures analogue is MUCH harder than digitally. I am checking the light, selecting the right frame, make sure I am actually in focus and in the frame and then finally press the shutter. I can never really know if I´ve done anything right until the film is developed. Oh, good old times! So to be a bit more sure about what I am doing I am always test-shooting the frames beforehand with my digital camera. This allows me to be more sure of my settings and then I “simply” transfer everything to the film camera.

Imagine me, in my German dirndl, and rubber boots constantly running back and forth between my position in the frame and my tripod checking the frames, settings and repeatedly pressing the timer. I am so focused on my task that I don´t even notice the high nettles in the grass that are brushing my bare calves every time I run back and forth between my two positions. My skin itches and burns and reacts with redness.

The light eventually fades and I don´t have another choice but to go back home. Tired from the intense shoot I go back. When I try to open the door I realize I forgot to bring my keys. And here I am. Locked out of my apartment.

IMG_0554

IMG_0565

IMG_0562

Since I am able to write this blog post I probably managed to get back in 😉

One thought on “A german dress, rubber boots and a kitchen knife.

Leave a Reply

