Email from Berlin

Friday afternoon.
I just got into a comfortable position next to the swimming pool when my phone vibrates. The display shows an email from Berlin – or let´s call it my soon-to-be reality there.

The email reads: “Dear students, we will meet on monday at 10am. Please bring along a small portfolio or some photographs (printed out) representing your work. I am looking forward to seeing you.”

Wow. I had almost forgotten. I was accepted to photography school! And now there is no turning back. (Well, actually there is since it´s a private school and I can basically do whatever. But for dramatic purposes – let´s say there is no turning back. Decision made.)

So there I am. Sitting next to a swimming pool in Portugal, all worn out from today´s strong current and hundreds of waves clashing against my body. I smile. I get excited. And then nervous.

A part of the email is echoing in my head…”Bring along a small portfolio representing your work”. Do I even have something to show them? What will the others show? Do they have experience? What kind of photography are they interested in? What if they ask me what kind of photography I am interested in? Darn it – what am I interested in? Do I even have a real portfolio or just a bunch of pretty pictures? Is there a meaning behind my pictures or was I just lucky in pressing a button at the right moment? Enough!

I push the thoughts aside and decide to wait until monday when I´ll get to experience it for myself.

 

Leave a Reply

