Aside

Changing habits

Image


“Watch your thoughts, they become words;
Watch your words, they become actions;
Watch your actions, they become habits;
Watch your habits, they become your character;
and Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.”

– Mahatma Gandhi

 

I read that it takes 30 days to create a new habit. Meaning if you do something 30 days in a row you are likely to have developed a new habit you will be able to keep for the future. How cool is that?

Well, the hardest part is to actually follow through with something for 30 days in a row. How many times have I been thinking: “I will start jogging!” And then I went jogging the next day and felt all good about myself. But then… yeah – on the next day I was sore and took a break, then it rained, and the day after that they needed me longer in the office. And guess what – a week later I had forgotten all about my jogging-plans.

It´s really hard for humans to change a habit from one day to the other!

Here a cool movie quote: We are just a bunch of regular people doing a bunch of regular stuff that accumulated makes something extraordinary.

So when this came up on my facebook feed I could not resist:

30day-plank-challenge-chart

The main reason why I started with this challenge was the fact that it only takes a couple of seconds to participate! 20 seconds is really nothing! And then I was hooked. I am on day 15 now and am starting to struggle a little – not with keeping the excercise up, just physically. But guys, seriously! It´s amazing how satisfying this gets! To gain physical strength is just a part of the process – but I can´t believe how doable a plan like this suddenly gets! And I am amazed by me taking a couple of seconds a day to actually DO THIS.

Task learned: Find something realistic and stick with it. Jogging every day? Not realistic yet…

Leave a Reply

