Learning about sustainability… and facebook

Sunday morning, Berlin.

Over the last couple of weeks I have managed to adjust my facebook feed to actually show things I am interested in. I might be one of the last people to realize how to properly use the “likes” on pages you are interested in. Every page you like on facebook – and I am not talking about your friends profiles, but about facebook pages like “Nature”, “Dancing in the dark” etc. – shows up on your newsfeed. Means between all your friends posting a picture out of an airplane titled “high above the clouds” or their most recent meal, the pages you liked also slip in their latest posts.

When I joined facebook in 2008 or something I was all excited about all my friends everyday lives. By now I have realized that we all do pretty much the same. And facebook can by no means substitute REAL conversation. I really hate it when I ask a friend “Hey, how was your vacation?” and he/she answers with “Haven´t you seen my pictures on facebook?”. eeeehhhmmm… OK, I am going little off topic here.

What I wanted to write about was sustainability. Or actually and topic YOU are really interested in. I am interested in changing the world by finding sustainable ways of living. Therefore I am following many many pages on facebook posting stuff about these topics. And oh do I suddenly love my newsfeed again! Facebook has a new purpose – for me at least. Here are two of my favorite pages to follow:

http://www.sustainableamerica.org/
Sustainable America is a page mostly concerned with the American food industry.

Image

http://sustainableman.org/

They collect and post things about basically anything related with sustainability from engineering approaches to sustainable ways to produce clothes. Food for thought.

Image

Leave a Reply

