Mr. Goenka

… is my inspiration of today.

Image

2 years ago I have been participating in Mr. Goenka´s Vipassana meditation for “new students”. This is what I thought about it in 2011: https://valeskasblog.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/vipassana-meditation-indonesia/

I was a very critical student 2 years ago. And to be honest, I think I was not in the right state of mind for this kind of meditation. However, now 2 years later Mr. Goenka still touches my life and crosses my mind more often I would have ever imagined. Mr. Goenka is trying to equip every human being with a set of tools to live a peaceful life, but is up to every single person to use them.

His meditation technique might not have worked for me at the time, neither am I meditating at home in silence every day… but his message came through. It reached out and touched my heart and soul. Mr. Goenka is neither a religious nor a political leader.

I found this speech from 2000 to the UN, which I think is worth reading. http://www.jp.dhamma.org/index.php?id=1174&L=1&id=1174

Short extract:

“Non-Violence: the Key to a Definition of Religion 
There are bound to be differences between religions. However, by gathering at this World Peace Summit, leaders of all the major faiths have shown that they want to work for peace. Let peace then be the first principle of “universal religion”.”

Leave a Reply

