My 2012

Beginning a new year lets many people rethink their past year and everything that has happened. So much has happened in 2012!

January – I came back from Argentina and with this last flight back to Germany my long planned world trip ended. It still feels unreal thinking about it and sometimes I can only believe I have been travelling because I am on certain pictures in Angkor Wat or Borneo! Wow! AND: I quit my job that was on hold for me during my year off.

February – I fullfilled myself the dream of working in a Café for a while. I walked through town and within one day I found myself a job as waitress. And yet another dream was about to come true. I moved in with my cousin!! As kids we had always planned to live together when we were big…

Image

March – Visit to Sweden and seeing the winter wonderland there. The dark period of the year was finally over, but the snow was not yet gone. The sun was shining and we could sit outside, drinking hot tea in the snow.

Image

April –  My mom turned 50 and had a big party with friends and family. How nice to see everybody!! I renovated my apartment, which I had rented to a girl during my worldtrip. I sold my furniture and pretty much everything else. One thing I have realized: You don´t need much to be happy.

May – We got visitors from the US! I love to keep in touch with international relatives. This time they came because my stepdad was very very sick. He had to stay in the hospital for half a year. The time between the hospital visits was well used and I showed them around Bavaria.

Image

June – My dear friend Robert from Canada came on his Eurotrip to visit us in Germany! And we took a roadtrip down to Italy to visit one of his friends there. It is hard to believe, that we actually met on the couchsurfing plattform. Now we have been friends for about 2 years!

Image

July – A spontanious hike. For about 400 kilometers in 3 weeks. A friend of mine was planning on walking from Bilbao to Santiago de Compostella and I decided to join her on her way. It was 3 weeks of nothing but pain and walking. Always putting one foot in front of the other. Best people met in July: Leslie and Jaime from Holland who showed us that it is all a matter of the right mindset.

Image

August – Short visit to Oslo right from Spain! PLUS: I am moving to Sweden!! Once more I had to say good-bye to my friends and family and to leave for a new adventure: A Master Program in Sweden. I was so lucky that the university accepted me and everything went well. I drove my little car up to Östersund in a 2 weeks road trip – 3000 km.

Image

September – Start of my program. The University organized amazing introduction weeks for all international students and I got to meet so many new friends! We found the perfect apartment and were able to move in and feel right at home! We discovered our new home by foot and took several hikes through the highlands – stunning.

Image

October – I turned 24 and got birthday cards from all over the world 🙂 Thank you so much! I was accepted to the Swedish course and was studying Swedish about 4 times a week.

Image

November – My Swedish was going better and better and I have found some Swedish friends as well. This month is one of the darkest months in Östersund and we all are waiting for a big load of snow to brighten up our lives!!

ImageDecember – We spend most of our December decorating the apartment, baking cookies and cakes, inviting friends over for a coffe or hosting couchsurfers. It was a cozy time in Östersund. Then I got to spend christmas at home and Germany and had the best new years ever in a cottage in southern Sweden with 10 amazing people.

IMG_9111

Actually I was not able to fit everything that happened in this blogpost. See this as an overview… haha
Thank you for this amazing year! I am so excited for the next one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

